Monday, May 6th, 2019
Champagne Toast
6:00pm Awards Program
7:00pm Dinner & Reception

Cocktail Attire or Traditional Cultural Dress

At the Chicago History Museum
1601 N Clark St.

Chicago, IL 60614


Join the Chicago Cultural Alliance for an evening celebrating the cultural legacy of Chicago! The evening’s program features multicultural performances, a special awards presentation for the 2019 Cultural Champion, Outstanding Community Leaders, and Cultural Investment Award, all in support of the Alliance’s intercultural programs and equity work.

Tickets on sale now!  To learn more about supporting MOSAIC as a sponsor or event partner, click here or contact Emily Reusswig at [email protected] or 312.846.6814 x101.

Announcing our 2019 Cultural Champion!

Michelle T. Boone is the Chief Program and Civic Engagement Officer at Navy Pier, an independent nonprofit and historic Chicago landmark; it is one of the Midwest top destinations and attracts nearly 9 million people annually. Michelle joined Navy Pier in 2016 in a newly created role as a part of the organization’s Centennial Vision Plan.

Previously, in 2011 Michelle was appointed by Mayor Rahm Emanuel as Commissioner of the Chicago Department of Cultural Affairs and Special Events (DCASE).  Prior to that, Michelle was a senior program officer at the Joyce Foundation (2004–2011) overseeing the culture portfolio and distributing more than $2 million annually in grants supporting nonprofit arts organizations in six major Midwest cities. Boone is the recipient of multiple honors and awards including being named a “Chicagoan of the Year” by Chicago Tribune in 2015 and serves on various regional and national boards.

Previous Cultural Champions:

Rosa Cabrera and Alaka Wali 2018; Amina Dickerson 2017; Elissa Efroymson and Adnaan Hamid 2016; Ra and Falona Joy 2015; Janet Carl Smith 2014; Martin Castro 2013; Sunny Fischer 2012

Stay tuned for more details, including announcements of our 2019 Cultural Investment Award and Outstanding Community Leader Awardees in March!

Previous Outstanding Community Leaders: 

Lydia Tckazuk, Jean Mishima 2018; Kwangmin Jang, Ruben Salazar 2017; Jan Lorys, Dorothie Shah, Dr. Erku Yimer 2016; Maria Ciesla, Hector Duarte 2015; Joe L. Yazzie, Jose Lopez 2014; Rasmea Yousef, Kerstin Lane 2013; Raymond Lee, Jose Luis Gutierrez 2012; Lakshmi Menon, Alex Gonzales 2011

MOSAIC 2019 Committee:

Amina Dickerson & Angel Ysaguirre, Co-Chairs
Jason Lesniewicz
Jada Russell

MOSAIC 2019 Sponsors & Partners: